
How the HITWAY BK-U3 performs, on paper
Computed from this bike's catalogue figures with the published formulas. Nothing here was measured on a ride.
Manufacturer overclaim: 70%. The estimate's band is 29 mi to 36 mi. Reference ride: Tour assist, rolling terrain, mild weather, brisk pace, 176 lb rider. How we work this out
The range calculator's formula with the reference ride's settings: Tour assist, mild weather, brisk pace, road tyres. The ring marks the published estimate (176 lb rider, rolling terrain).
Show the values as a table
| Terrain | 132.3 lb | 176.4 lb | 220.5 lb | 264.6 lb |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flat | 42 mi | 40 mi | 39 mi | 37 mi |
| Rolling | 34 mi | 32 mi | 31 mi | 30 mi |
| Steep | 26 mi | 25 mi | 24 mi | 23 mi |
No list price in your market; shown for Europe.
Left out because they do not state it: battery 1, weight 3, torque 18, top speed 1, estimated range 3.
- Purchase price
- €1,100
- Purchase price
- $1,188
- Purchase price
- $1,188
- Purchase price
- $1,188
- Resale value
- −€268
- Resale value
- −$290
- Resale value
- −$290
- Resale value
- −$290
- Charging
- €109
- Charging
- $65
- Charging
- $124
- Charging
- $122
- Servicing
- $648
- Battery replacement
- $0
Purchase price: the list price in Europe.
Purchase price: the euro list price converted at the site's fixed rate, because the brand states no price of its own in this market.
Purchase price: the euro list price converted at the site's fixed rate, because the brand states no price of its own in this market.
Purchase price: the euro list price converted at the site's fixed rate, because the brand states no price of its own in this market.
Charging at $0.173/kWh, the average household price (EIA, 2025, annual average). Where these prices come from
Defaults: 5 years, 3107 mi a year, fuel $1.84/L at 7 L/100 km, transit pass $65/month. Same maths as the cost-of-ownership calculator for the bike (price, charging, servicing, battery, resale) and the savings calculator for the car.
Run it with your own numbersOr compare with your own commute
Where it sits among city e-bikes
Price against estimated range for 147 city models priced in the United States. This model is the ringed dot.
At $1,188 and an estimated 32 mi, it ranks 42 of 147 on estimated range per unit of price. That is a converted price: the bike is not listed for the United States, so the figure is its list price converted at the site's fixed rate.
It is off the line: the HAOQI Antelope has a longer estimated range, 55 mi, at $999, which is at or below this model's price. 42 of the 147 are placed at converted prices (hollow dots).
Fit for the e-bike rules
- USFitsTop speed 25 km/h (15.5 mph) and rated motor 250 W are within 28 mph (45 km/h) and 750 W.On the figures the brand states; not legal advice
- CanadaFitsTop speed 25 km/h (15.5 mph) and rated motor 250 W are within 32 km/h (20 mph) and 500 W.On the figures the brand states; not legal advice
- UKFitsTop speed 25 km/h (15.5 mph) and rated motor 250 W are within 15.5 mph (25 km/h) and 250 W.On the figures the brand states; not legal advice
- EUFitsTop speed 25 km/h (15.5 mph) and rated motor 250 W are within 25 km/h (15.5 mph) and 250 W.On the figures the brand states; not legal advice
- AustraliaFitsTop speed 25 km/h (15.5 mph) and rated motor 250 W are within 25 km/h (15.5 mph) and 250 W.On the figures the brand states; not legal advice
HITWAY BK-U3 specifications
The catalogue's figures, as the brand states them. A dot shows where a figure sits among City bikes.
The model
- BrandHITWAY
- ModelBK-U3
- TypeCity
- Available inEurope
Motor and power
- Motor power250 W
- Motor torque55 Nm
Battery and range
- Battery720 Wh48 V × 15 Ah
- Claimed range109 mi
- Estimated range32 mi−70% vs claim
Frame and weight
- Weight65 lb
- Max payload330.7 lb
- FoldableNo
- Step-throughNot stated
- CargoNo
Speed, class and controls
- Top speed16 mph
- ThrottleNot stated
- Fast (28 mph)Not stated
Price
- Price$1,188
Where the figure sits among City bikes, from lowest to highest
Questions about the HITWAY BK-U3
How much does the BK-U3 cost?
The catalogue list price is Europe €1,100. A list price is what the brand states, not what a shop charges today.
What are the BK-U3's specs?
The HITWAY BK-U3 (City) has a 720 Wh battery, a 250 W rated motor, 55 Nm of torque, a top speed of 16 mph, a weight of 65 lb and a claimed range of 109 mi.
What is the BK-U3's real-world range?
We estimate about 32 mi (29 mi to 36 mi) for a 176.4 lb rider on rolling terrain with Tour assist, mild weather and a brisk pace, from its 720 Wh battery and its weight of 65 lb. It is a calculation with the open range formula, not a ride test. The brand's own claim is 109 mi.
How much does it cost to charge the BK-U3?
A full charge costs about $0.12 (720 Wh ÷ 1,000 × $0.173/kWh, the average household price, EIA, 2025, annual average), with no charger loss. Enter your own price in the battery calculator.
Run this bike through the calculators.
We've pre-filled each tool with this bike's spec. Adjust your own usage - terrain, weight, weekly km - to see the numbers for you, not the marketing brochure.
Real-world range
How far will it actually go with your weight, terrain & assist?
Pre-filled 720 WhCost of ownership
Add a rival and compare over 5 years - charging, service, resale.
Pre-loaded as Bike ABattery economics
When you'll need a replacement, and what each km really costs.
Pre-filled 720 WhWant to know when BK-U3 gets cheaper?
We are building daily price tracking. Leave your email and we'll tell you when alerts for this bike go live. Nothing else in between.







